Mystic Sisterhood

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Mystic Sisterhood

Psychic, Paranormal & Natural Science Forums



Next Chat Event

Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars! 5nvklj





Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars! 9tpt39

..


Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars!

Dragon
Dragon
Senior Administrator
Senior Administrator

Posts : 7244
Points : 23811
Times User Thanked: : 899
Join date : 2018-01-18

Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars! Empty Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars!

Post by Dragon Thu Feb 18, 2021 8:24 pm

NASA’s Perseverance rover, with the Ingenuity helicopter attached to its belly, is on target to touch down gently in Jezero Crater on Mars around 3:55 p.m. EST (12:55 p.m. PST, 8:55 p.m. GMT) today, February 18, 2021. Live coverage and landing commentary will start at 2:15 p.m. EST (11:15 a.m. PST, 7:15 p.m. GMT) on the NASA TV Public Channel.

The Perseverance rover mission, launched on July 30, 2020, will address high-priority science goals for Mars exploration.

Developed under NASA’s Mars Exploration Program, it will seek signs of past microbial life and characterize the planet’s climate and geology.

It will also collect samples of Martian rocks and dust for a future Mars Sample Return mission to Earth, while paving the way for human exploration of the Red Planet.

Perseverance, the largest, heaviest robotic Mars rover NASA has built, is based on the Curiosity rover configuration.

It is car-sized, about 3 m (10 feet) long not including the robotic arm, 2.7 m (9 feet) wide and 2.1 m (7 feet) tall. But at 1,025 kg (2,260 pounds), it weighs less than a compact car.

Its robotic arm is equipped with a rotating turret, which includes a rock drill, science instruments and a camera.

Continued...

Source


Last edited by Dragon on Thu Feb 18, 2021 8:27 pm; edited 1 time in total


_________________
Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars! 334pu7m
Dragon
Dragon
Senior Administrator
Senior Administrator

Posts : 7244
Points : 23811
Times User Thanked: : 899
Join date : 2018-01-18

Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars! Empty Re: Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars!

Post by Dragon Thu Feb 18, 2021 8:27 pm



Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars!

NASA will be attempting to land the #Perseverance​ Mars Rover and Ingenuity Helicopter on the surface of Mars!

This is the biggest and most sophisticated rover anyone has ever landed on the surface of Mars.

After a 7-month long journey spanning 497 million km, Perseverance will land at Jezero Crater. It's a sibling to Curiosity, featuring a large drill and a soil caching system, upgraded wheels and cameras, and even an experiment that will make oxygen on the surface of Mars!


_________________
Watch NASA land the Perseverance Rover on Mars! 334pu7m

    Current date/time is Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:20 am